Кarol Szymanowski String Quartet

Agata Szymczewska – violin
Robert Kowalski – violin
Volodia Mykytka – viola
Karol Marianowski –violoncello

Britten – String Quartet No. 3
Szymanowski – Nocturne & Tarantella op. 28 (arr. M. Skoryk)
Ravel – String Quartet in F major

A Polish quartet performs works by Szymanowski, Britton and Ravel

The musicians will perform a unique masterpiece by Karol Szymanowski – one of the most inspiring Polish composers after Chopin. This chamber concert in the Main program of Varna Summer International Music Festival 2022 will take place on July 2 in the Aula hall of University of Economics – Varna.

The Karol Szymanowski Quartet’s 25th anniversary year is a year of renewal: with Agata Szymczewska, Robert Kowalski, Volodia Mykytka and Karol Marianowski, the ensemble will present itself in Varna in a different line-up and by returning to its original name, also forges a link to its roots. The musicians perform on concert stages in Europe and Asia, but are always with a shared basic inspiration grounded in a commitment to Polish
music and the Polish composer Karol Szymanowski. His music, with its immense freedom and infinite possibilities of expression, combining romanticism and modernism, has left a remarkable trace on Europe’s musical heritage.

Most inspiring and dedicating mission for the musicians in the quartet, with their Polish and Ukrainian roots, is to promote the work of the great Slavic composer around the world. The audience will experience a unique concert with Szymanowski – Nocturne & Tarantella op. 28 (arr. M. Skoryk), Britten – String Quartet No. 3 and Ravel – String Quartet in F major.